Latest News
HomePeopleTan Siew Huay honoured by Flight Safety Foundation for contribution to international aviation

Tan Siew Huay honoured by Flight Safety Foundation for contribution to international aviation

First woman from Asia to receive the Foundation’s Gloria Heath Trophy recognising women in aviation for notable achievement in civil aviation.

Ms Tan Siew Huay, the Director (Legal) at the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS), a leader in international aviation law and the first woman elected to chair the International Civil Aviation Organization’s Legal Committee, will receive the Flight Safety Foundation’s Gloria Heath Trophy. The Gloria Heath Trophy recognises a woman for notable achievement in civil aviation, and Ms Tan is being recognised for her leadership on the international stage and for advancing aviation law and the industry. Ms Tan will be presented the Trophy at the Foundation’s annual Networking and Awards Dinner on 11 July 2023 at the National Press Club in Washington D.C.

Ms Tan is the second recipient and the first woman in Asia to receive the Gloria Heath Trophy, which was first presented in 2022. The inaugural recipient was Ms Poppy Khoza, Director of Civil Aviation, South African Civil Aviation Authority. (See Annex A for more information on Ms Tan Siew Huay).

Ms Tan was selected out of 11 nominees. The 11 nominations were made by the international aviation community and drawn from an array of industry sectors, including airlines, business aviation, equipment suppliers, regulators, research, academia, flight training and testing, and general aviation in North America, Africa and Asia Pacific. An international panel of more than a dozen members from the Foundation Board of Governors and the Foundation advisory committees selected the winner of the Trophy.

“International aviation is underpinned by a complex web of laws, treaties and regulations. Siew Huay has been a driving force behind many of the advances in international air law that the industry has seen over the past two decades,” said Foundation President and CEO Dr Hassan Shahidi.

“Our heartiest congratulations to Siew Huay. The award is testament to Siew Huay’s passion and dedication and a recognition of her contribution on the global stage. We hope Siew Huay’s example will inspire a younger generation of Singaporeans, especially women, to achieve excellence and make meaningful impact beyond our shores. We encourage more to join Singapore aviation to take it to greater heights and to contribute to international aviation,” said Mr Han Kok Juan, Director-General, CAAS. 6 The Gloria Heath Trophy is named after Gloria Heath, one of the founders of the Foundation. Heath, who played a critical leadership role in the early days of the Foundation, was an aviator who served in the U.S. Women Airforce Service Pilots during World War II. She was named one of the 100 most influential women in aviation by Women in Aviation International and was a recipient of numerous awards, including the Amelia Earhart Award and the Laura Taber Barbour Air Safety Award.

Co-Founder & Managing Director - Travel Media Applications | + Articles

Theodore is the Co-Founder and Managing Editor of TravelDailyNews Media Network; his responsibilities include business development and planning for TravelDailyNews long-term opportunities.