Latest News
HomeAsia-PacificHong Kong rings in 2023 with a spectacular multimedia show over Victoria Harbour
Attractions

Hong Kong rings in 2023 with a spectacular multimedia show over Victoria Harbour

The high-energy extravaganza will be accompanied by a stirring musical soundtrack, as Hong Kong sings and dances its way into 2023 in inimitable style.

HONG KONG & LOS ANGELES – The “Hong Kong New Year Countdown Celebrations,” organized by the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB), will be held at the city’s world-famous Victoria Harbour on December 31 to welcome 2023.

Details of the “Hong Kong New Year Countdown Celebrations”

23:45 HK Time
New Year’s Eve, Dec 31
10:45 am EST (New Year’s Eve Day)
7:45 am PST
LIVE PERFORMANCES: With the iconic Hong Kong skyline as the backdrop, the exuberant celebrations will begin with a succession of live performances, including internationally acclaimed pianist Niu Niu (Zhang Shengliang), a gravity-defying display by members of the Hong Kong Rope Skipping Club, and drummers from Gekko Taiko.

23:58 HK Time
New Year’s Eve
10:58 am EST (New Year’s Eve Day, Dec 31)
7:58 am PST
ANIMATION: In the lead-up to the countdown, online and TV audiences can enjoy a 3D animation celebrating the city’s diversity and dynamics, as a short film hypes up the countdown ambience with rhythmic drumming, dancing fires and exciting music.

23:59:30 HK Time
New Year’s Eve
10:59:30 am EST (New Year’s Eve Day, Dec 31)
7:59:30 am PST
LIVE COUNTDOWN CLOCK: At thirty seconds to midnight, the eyes of the audience will be on Victoria Harbour, as the façade of the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) is transformed into a giant clock face, counting down the last 30 seconds of 2022. As the clock ticks to midnight, a multimedia show will light up the sky.

00:00 HK Time
1 January 2023
11:00 am EST (New Year’s Eve Day, Dec 31)
8:00 am PST
LIVE SHOW: This sensational 10-minute show will symbolize the beginning of the New Year, brimming with hope and opportunity in Hong Kong, as Victoria Harbour is lit up with myriad dancing lights projected from different locations along the harbour front. Moving lights from the harbour will be beamed from Star Ferry vessels while a kaleidoscopic, multi-layered display of rooftop pyrotechnics will be launched from the top harbour-front buildings and landmarks. 

The high-energy extravaganza will be accompanied by a stirring musical soundtrack, as Hong Kong sings and dances its way into 2023 in inimitable style, sending out a vivid and irresistible message of revival and optimism from one of the world’s most exciting cities.

Co-Founder & Managing Editor - TravelDailyNews Media Network

Theodore is the Co-Founder and Managing Editor of TravelDailyNews Media Network; his responsibilities include business development and planning for TravelDailyNews long-term opportunities.

19/07/2024
18/07/2024
17/07/2024
16/07/2024
15/07/2024