Latest News
HomeDestinationsThailand’s PM unveils tourism hub strategy for 55 provinces

Thailand’s PM unveils tourism hub strategy for 55 provinces

Thailand’s PM

Thailand’s PM Srettha Thavisin urges development of 55 second-tier provinces to enhance tourism infrastructure under the “Ignite Thailand” vision.

BANGKOK, THAILAND – Thailand’s Prime Minister, H.E. Mr. Srettha Thavisin, called on governors of 55 second-tier tourist provinces and Thai tourism authorities to further develop infrastructure and tourism offering as well as explore measures to position Thailand as a Tourism Hub in line with the government’s “Ignite Thailand” vision.

Prime Minister Srettha has laid out his strategy to boost the Thai economy in the second half of this year at a recent meeting attended by the 55 provincial governors, executives from the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) as well as representatives from related private bodies. Also present at the meeting were Mr. Anutin Charnvirakul, Deputy Prime Minister and Interior Minister, Mr. Suriya Juangroongruangkit, Deputy Prime Minister and Transport Minister, Mr. Sermsak Pongpanit, Tourism and Sports Minister, and Mr. Prommin Lertsuridej, Secretary General to the Prime Minister.

PM reiterated a strategy to promote travel linkage between well-established and second-tier tourist destinations to spread the benefits of tourism nationwide as part of the overall “Ignite Thailand” vision.

He said the government prioritized the promotion of 55 second-tier tourist provinces along with the readiness of each destination in the areas of attractions, accommodation, transportation infrastructure, local identity, culinary experiences, and five must-do activities – Must East local food Must See local culture, Must Seek unseen attractions, Must Buy local arts and crafts, and Must Beat local sports.

The Prime Minister stressed that cooperation from the public and private sectors was crucial to develop and enhance the capability of the 55 provinces under such policies as, the development of transport infrastructure and tourist facilities, development of new attractions and tourism offerings, supporting local businesses through tax incentives, training and upskill tourism workers, improvement of safety standards, promotion of responsible and sustainable tourism, and maximize digital and social media for publicity. In addition, the government plans to nominate some provinces for UNESCO World Heritage status.

The 55 second-tier tourist provinces are:

In the North (16 provinces): Chiang Rai, Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nan, Nakhon Sawan, Phayao, Phetchabun, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Sukhothai, Tak, Uthai Thani, and Uttaradit;

In the Northeast (18 provinces): Amnat Charoen, Bueng Kan, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Loei, Maha Sarakham, Mudahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai, Roi Et, Sakon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Ubon Ratchathani, Udon Thani, and Yasothon;

In the Central Region (seven provinces): Ang Thong, Chai Nat, Lop Buri, Ratchaburi, Sing Buri, Samut Songkhram, and Suphan Buri;

In the East (five provinces): Chanthaburi, Nakhon Nayok, Prachin Buri, Sa Kaeo, and Trat;

In the South (nine provinces): Chumphon, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phatthalung, Ranong, Satun, Yala, and Trang.

Co-Founder & Managing Editor - TravelDailyNews Media Network

Theodore is the Co-Founder and Managing Editor of TravelDailyNews Media Network; his responsibilities include business development and planning for TravelDailyNews long-term opportunities.